Lecturing Creatively

leader-speech greenI yearn for the days of a good old fashioned lecture. I show up with my notebook (paper not laptop!) my ears and scribble notes, listen to other student’s questions, leave class, and spend hours in my head thinking…. An introvert’s and quiet thinkers dream.

In Chapter 6 of his book, Brookfield proposes an update to my beloved lecture – incorporate discussion. First, he outlines the value of both a lecture and discussion. In doing so, he defends the value of a lecture (it lies in the delivery) and acknowledges that discussions are not necessarily neutral or student centered. He then moves on to why an instructor would lecture:

  • “Establish the broad outline of a body of material” (provides a framework for the journey)
  • “Explain concepts that learners struggle to understand” (can use as many examples as needed)
  • “Introduce alternative perspectives and interpretations” (challenges current thinking)
  • “Model intellectual attitudes and behaviours” (leading by example)
  • “Encourage learners’ interest in a topic” (what about this?)

While I appreciate the value of doing (in this case participating in a discussion) is learning, organizing my thoughts is not an instantaneous process which is probably why I love an old fashioned lecture – it provides a framework with details that I can mull over in quiet. However, I do understand the value of incorporating as much variety into the session as possible to address different learning styles, cultural differences etc. and discussion provides that variety. Some of the discussion techniques I believe I would use or have used are below:

  • Lecture from Siberia (I frequently move around my classroom)
  • Use Spatial Separation for “speaking in tongues” (also provides a different view point of the lecturer)
  • Break lectures into Well Paced Vignettes (helps with framework, boredom etc.)
  • Buzz Groups (especially to generate questions students hope will be addressed – this will help guide the session)

Note: I tend to shy away from reliance on too much technology for 2 reasons: there’s nothing worse than having it go wrong (huge time consumer and potentially unable to execute requiring a back up plan); if students don’t know how to use the technology it can be a huge time consumer and potentially frustrating for all involved. You need to be able to execute what you plan.

An incredibly important point Brookfield makes is “organize lectures so students can follow the lecturer’s train of thought”. (Brookfield, 2015,  p78) Execution of your lesson is as important as organizing and content!

 

References

Brookfield, S. D. (2015). The skillful teacher: On technique, trust, and responsiveness in the classroom (3rd ed.). San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers.

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Flipped Classroom | Ramblings of an Aging Student

Leave a comment